Here are highlights from our current season

September 24, 2021

with members of Sinfonia Spirituosa

Other Voices

This is a rare opportunity to hear music from voices often unheard in Early Music concerts: the viola as a soloist, and women composers. Violist Vijay Chalasani, professor at the University of Northern Colorado and founding member of Sinfonia Spirituosa, brings us this special program that takes the viola (the favored instrument of J.S. Bach, W.A. Mozart, and many others) into the spotlight. His program highlighting the viola will feature music by familiar composers such as J.S. Bach, J.J. Quantz, and H.I.F. Biber, as well as music by Isabella Leonarda and Beatrice Mattei, two women composers historically excluded from the musical canon. An Early-Music inspired contemporary work by Reena Esmail completes the program. Esmail is a Los Angeles based composer who, like Chalasani, has South Asian heritage and whose music making meets at the frontiers of Eastern cultural influence and Western musical training. We hope you will join us for this stunning premier concert of our Tenth Season!

To learn more about a performer, please click on a name below.  Please click here to see a printable program for this concert.

      Vijay Chalasani, viola
      Sarah Biber, viola da gamba
      Peter Schimpf, lute   



Prelude and Fugue from Suite No. 5 in C minor (BWV 1011, c. 1720)  J.S. Bach (1685-1750)

Adagio from On Playing the Flute (1752)  Johann Joachim Quantz (1697-1773)

Sonata No. 10 from The Sorrowful Mysteries (c. 1676) – Heinrich Ignaz Franz von Biber (1644-1704)
      Aria with Variations

Varsha वषा  (Rain) (2019/2021)  Reena Esmail (1983- )

Sonata Duodecima a violino solo e organo (Op. 16, 1693)  Isabella Leonarda (1620-1704)

Sonata for Viola and Continuo (1740) – Beatrice Mattei (early 18th century)
      Allegro Brillante assai

Click below to look at performances from our previous seasons